Top Active Scorers in GMC for 2016-17

Check out the Top Active Scorers in the GMC for the 2016-17 season. Only one 1,000 point scorer in the GMC returned from last season. Sayreville’s Ryan O’Leary scored his 1,000th career point in a state tourney tune-up game against East Brunswick on February 28, 2016. He has since gone over the 1,300 point plateau, and is now 4th on the all time scoring list at Sayreville with 1,408 points.

Over the last week, three more GMC players reached the 1,000 point plateau including Rob Saydee of Timothy Christian (1,059 points), Derrick Whitaker of South River (1,040), who is just reaching the end of his sophomore year, and Mike Ugarte of South Brunswick (1,016 points). In order to get on to the list, a GMC player must have at least 500 points for his career. Below is the list of the top active scorers in the GMC as of the end of play on February 18th:

Current Totals for Top GMC Active Scorers in 2016-17

  • Ryan O’Leary–Sayreville–1,408 gpoints
  • Mike Ugarte–South Brunswick–1,016 points
  • Robert Saydee–Timothy Christian–1,059 points
  • Derrick Whitaker–South River–1,040 points
  • Letrell West–St. Joseph’s–898 points
  • Kyle Parris–Old Bridge–852 points
  • Keshaun Henry–Woodbridge–840 points
  • Quassim Glover–Woodbridge–805 points
  • Andrew Fuzesi–Spotswood–751 points
  • Danny Flaherty–Metuchen–695 points
  • Jahsim Floyd–Sayreville–662 points
  • Will Clemons–Timothy Christian–650 points
  • Pedro Gonzalez–Perth Amboy Tech–635 points
  • Sean Kudelka–Bishop Ahr–594 points
  • Javon Fisher–Perth Amboy Tech–589 points
  • Jemar Jordan–Carteret–580 points
  • Scott Hargrove–Wardlaw-Hartridge–578 points
  • Harry Rutkowski–Woodbridge–577 points
  • Justin Turner–Edison–565 points
  • Alex Santiago–Bishop Ahr–564 points
  • Pete Obertan–J.F. Kennedy–540 points
  • Jake Robel–Middlesex–534 points
  • Joe Cudakiewicz–Edison–525 points
  • Fres Cabrera–Perth Amboy–520 points
  • Quran Robinson–Woodbridge–513 points
  • Pierce Kokosinski–Timothy Christian–507 points
  • J.T. Vento–Spotswood–500 points

NOTE:  D’Ondre Dent of Piscataway (499 points), Will McLaughlin of South Plainfield (478 points), Isaiah Daniels-Porter of Carteret (468 points), and Kyle Gregory of Perth Amboy Tech (408 points) are among the next to be added to the list.

If anyone has any point totals for other active players that also deserve to be on the list, please e-mail them to me at